ENPC | European Nursery Products Confederation

EU Childcare Products Safety Awards

March 13, 2019

The European Commission is proud to announce that applications are now open for the first EU Product Safety Award, recognising businesses, large and small, that go the extra mile to protect consumers, and organized by the European Commission.

You have until 7 April to apply and get the recognition you deserve!

Safety of childcare products

Is one of the two Award categories for 2019 (together with safety of products sold online). This category recognises companies designing, producing or distributing childcare products that put the safety of children at the heart of their business.

That may be, for example, the way they design a baby’s cot, the creative way in which they communicate risks to their customers, the outstanding quality of their after-sale services, or the ways they integrate product safety into the supply chain and life cycle of the product. Products for which you can compete:

  • Clothing and footwear
  • Baths & bathing equipment
  • Bottles and feeding equipment
  • Carriers
  • Sleeping equipment such as cots, beds, mattresses and bedding
  • High-chairs and other seats (excluding car seats)
  • Pushchairs
  • Safety equipment such as safety gates.

Recognition for businesses big and small

There are 12 Awards available: six for ‘online sales’ and six for ‘childcare products’. A Gold, Silver or Bronze award will be given to three SMEs and three larger companies in each category.
Winners will receive their Awards from Commissioner Jourová in a ceremony in Brussels this September and will get a chance to share their ideas and best practices with their industry peers.

Apply now to win an Award!

To apply, companies must be based in one the 31 European Economic Area countries (the 28 EU Member States plus Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein). Winning an award will give companies widespread recognition, a boost to their reputation and a chance to position themselves as an industry leader in product safety.

22 languages

All Award information and application forms are available in 22 EU languages. You can choose a language at the top-right corner of the screen. However, submissions in languages other than English will be evaluated by the jury on the basis of machine translations.